fbpx

MOE School Holidays & Important Exam Dates 2021 

moe school holidays

This article breaks down the Singapore MOE school holidays 2021 as well as other important dates for students to take note of. 

Read also: Essentialism: The BEST way to study better before examinations 

Primary and Secondary Schools MOE School Term and Holidays

 

Primary and Secondary
Semester 1
Term 1 Mon 4 Jan to Fri 12 Mar
School Holidays Between Terms I & II Sat 13 Mar to Sun 21 Mar
Term 2 Mon 22 Mar to Fri 28 May
School Holidays Between Semesters I & II Sat 29 May to Sun 27 Jun
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 28 Jun to Fri 3 Sep
School Holidays Between Terms III & IV Sat 4 Sep to Sun 12 Sep
Term 4 Mon 13 Sep to *Fri 19 Nov
At End of School Year Sat 20 Nov to Fri 31 Dec

* The last day of the final school term for schools that will be used as venues for the GCE O Level written examinations will be Friday, 29 October 2021.

 

Junior College and Millennia Institute MOE School Terms and Holidays

 

JUNIOR COLLEGE (JC) & MILLENNIA INSTITUTE (MI) Year 1 MI Year 2 JC Year 2 & MI Year 3
Semester 1
Term 1 Fri 29 Jan to Fri 12 Mar Mon 11 Jan to Fri 12 Mar
School Holidays: Between Terms I & II Sat 13 Mar to Sun 21 Mar
Term 2 Mon 22 Mar to Fri 28 May
School Holidays: Between Semesters I & II Sat 29 May to Sun 27 Jun
Semester 2
Term 3 Mon 28 Jun to Fri 3 Sep
School Holidays: Between Terms III & IV Sat 4 Sep to Sun 12 Sep
Term 4 Mon 13 Sep to Fri 26 Nov Mon 13 Sep to end of A-Level exams
At the end of School Year Sat 27 Nov to Fri 31 Dec End of A-Level exams to 31 Dec

 

Scheduled MOE School Holidays 

 

Youth Day Sun 4 Jul

(The following Monday, 5 Jul 2021 will be a scheduled school holiday)

Day after National Day Tue 10 Aug
Teachers’ Day Fri 3 Sep
Children’s Day

(for primary schools and primary sections of full schools only)

Fri 8 Oct

 

Scheduled MOE School Public Holidays

 

Term I New Year’s Day Fri 1 Jan
Chinese New Year Fri 12 Feb
*Sat 13 Feb
Term II  Good Friday  Fri 2 Apr
Labour Day **Sat 1 May
Hari Raya Puasa Thu 13 May
Vesak Day Wed 26 May
Term III Hari Raya Haji Tue 20 Jul
Term IV National Day Mon 9 Aug
Deepavali Thu 4 Nov
Christmas Day Sat 25 Dec

*Monday, 15 Feb, will be a school holiday.

**Monday, 3 May, will be a school holiday.

 

For more information about the important dates of the school term, you can also visit MOE’s website at https://www.moe.gov.sg/education/school-terms-and-important-dates

 

Important National Examination Dates

There are 3 major national examinations conducted around the same time of the year, and they are namely the: 

  • PSLE 
  • GCE O Level
  • GCE A Level 

Taken by primary 6, secondary 4 Express and 5 Normal (Academic) and JC 2 and MI Year 3 graduating students. 

 

Here is a quick breakdown of the important examination dates. 

PSLE Examination Dates

  1. Oral Examinations 

 

Date Paper Time
Thursday, 12 August English Language

Foundation English Language

Chinese Language

Malay Language

Tamil Language

0800 – 1315 h
Friday, 13 August English Language

Chinese Language

Malay Language

Tamil Language

0800 – 1315 h

 

  1. Listening Comprehension Examination 

Date Paper Time
Friday, 17 September  Chinese Language

Malay Language

Tamil Language

0900 – 0935 h *
English Language  1115 – 1150 h *

 

  1. Written Examination

Date Paper Time
Thursday,

30 September

English Language Paper 1

English Language Paper 2 

0815 – 0925 h

1030 – 1220 h

Friday,

01 October 

Mathematics Paper 1

Mathematics Paper 2

0815 – 0915 h

1030 – 1200 h

Monday,

04 October 

Chinese Language Paper 1

Malay Language Paper 1

Tamil Language Paper 1

0815 – 0905 h 
Chinese Language Paper 2

Malay Language Paper 2

Tamil Language Paper 2

1015 – 1155 h
Tuesday,

05 October

Science  0815 – 1000 h
Wednesday,

06 October

Higher Mother Tongue (Chinese, Malay and Tamil Language) Paper 1 0815 – 0905 h
Higher Mother Tongue (Chinese, Malay and Tamil Language) Paper 2 1015 – 1135 h

 

GCE O Level Examinations Dates

The GCE O Level offers over 50 subjects for students, here are the main important examination dates. 

 

Date Paper Time
22/7/2021

to

3/8/2021

English Language Oral
15/10/2021 English Language Listening Comprehension Broadcast starts at

1500 hr

19/10/2021 English Language Paper 1 13:30 – 15:20
English Language Paper 2 16:05 – 17:55

 

Date Paper Time
18/10/2021 Mathematics Paper 1 14:30 – 16:30
21/10/2021 Mathematics Paper 2 14:30 – 17:00

 

For a more detailed breakdown of the national examination dates, visit the MOE website here

 

GCE A Level Examination Dates

 

Date Paper Time
8/11/2021 General Paper 1 08:00 – 09:30
General Paper 2 10:30 – 12:00

 

To view the detailed examination dates, you can visit MOE’s official website here

 

Tutopiya 

Tutopiya offers Live Online Tuition from primary 1 to junior college 2. We prepare our students for their national examinations with the most experienced tutors and up-to-date resources and materials. Talk to our experts today to experience online learning with Tutopiya! 

About The Author

Categories
Subjects
About Us
Reach Us

All rights reserved

©2022 tutopiya